Scripture for the Week

Your testimonies are wonderful; Therefore my soul keeps them. The entrance of Your words gives light; It gives understanding to the simple. I opened my mouth and panted, For I longed for Your commandments. Look upon me and be merciful to me, As Your custom is toward those who love Your name.
Psalm 119:129-132

Monday, August 31, 2009

2009 Summer Quotes of the Week

Hello all! This summer I really slacked off on quotes, so here are the two I did. I hope to have an update later today. :-)
Have a great day!


I often derive a peculiar satisfaction in conversing with the ancient and modern dead, - who yet live and speak excellently in their works. My neighbors think me often alone, - and yet at such times I am in company with more than five hundred mutes - each of whom, at my pleasure, communicates his ideas to me by dumb signs - quite as intelligently as any person living can do by uttering of words.

~Laurence Sterne

There is a temperate zone in the mind, between luxurious indolence and exacting work; and it is to this region, just between laziness and labor, that summer reading belongs.
~Henry Ward Beecher

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

May & June Update

Hello all! You may be wondering if I've dropped off the face of the planet, I have not. :-) I just have not felt like blogging or doing any book reviews. :-) So what have I been up to the last two months. Nothing overly dramatic, but here's a summary:

Family News, Church, Work, & Other Random Things
In May, my sister Sarah graduated with her Bachelor's in Spanish. We endured the long ceremony (some of us read a book) and then afterwards we went to spend the afternoon at another family's house. :-) It was a fun day overall and it was my first Saturday off from work since I started at the craft store! The next week, Mom, Sarah, and I all went out for a ladies luncheon with the ladies at church and then went shopping afterwards. It was fun, but the only thing we really bought was candy. :-)
Josh finished up his college classes this month and is enjoying having some free time again. (at least for now, eventually I will probably be pestering him to do projects. :-) ) Andrew just completed his Iowa tests this month, and will be working on math this summer, otherwise he is done too. So we are all glad to have the school hurdles done for a few months, and we're hoping to spend the summer getting together with people and having people over. (if we can work around our crazy work schedules!) At this point we are not planning a family summer vacation.
However, in July, some of us will be going to Texas with others in the church to do a Vacation Bible School. We will be working with missionaries that our church supports. (I'll give more details on this as it approaches) Lord willing, I will also be going, and at this point I'm in charge of snacks. VBS here in Ohio is the first week in July!

I haven't gotten around to trying any new recipes yet. But I did have fun working on making baby shower presents and experimenting with some new patterns. I recently bought a bunch of clearance baby yarn and I'm trying to decide on a pattern to make with it. Still haven't made a decision yet. :-)
Our room is also looking better, I still have to return photos and sort through some church history stuff, but all the scrapbooking supplies have been put away!
This month my siblings and I went out with some friends to see the movie "Up." It was a really good movie, definitely one of the better Pixar shows! We had a great time and afterwards enjoyed eating dinner together and chatting. :-)

Work has been about the same, nothing overly exciting in this area. I did learn something "new" recently, called "queing" (I've yet to figure out how this is spelled). It mostly involves checking items with a "pricing gun" and if it says we have 2 and there aren't any items there I put in "0" in the gun. Pretty easy but somewhat time consuming, which means my nicely organized routing of getting my work done on time is now somewhat "off."

What I've been reading
I've still not totally gotten back into my usual routine of reading. But in the last couple of months I re-read some old favorites. One of those being the "Anne of Green Gables" series. Sarah and I recently watched the movies and I had to read the books to remind myself of what "really" happens. :-) I also just finished reading for the second time, "To Kill A Mockingbird" another great book. Again, I read that because we just watched the movie. (notice a pattern here?) I highly recommend the movie version and the book version of "To Kill a Mockingbird" (just be aware of some swearing in the book). I was also going to try and read "War and Peace" (Sarah picked that out) but after reading about four chapters, I tried to skip to the end to see if I could figure out what happens, and was unsuccessful. :-) I have my doubts that I will try to finish it. :-)

Update on my Aunt
A major praise in this area! One of her "counts" (I can't really explain the details well) has been consistently going down. This means her new chemo treatment is working! We're thankful to hear the good results and I suspect surgery will be coming up in the near future. Thank you for your continued prayers!

What's next
Well, I ahem, maybe will be working on book reviews this summer. :-) Obviously I keep saying this and it doesn't happen, so you can come to your own conclusions on whether this will happen or not. :-) I expect the month of July to be busy with VBS preparations, getting together with friends, some cleaning, hopefully a book review, and maybe some craft projects. :-)

Thank you to all those who still stop by and I hope you have a great day and a wonderful summer!
~Amanda~

Monday, June 1, 2009

Quotes of the week for May

Week 1

Books have to be read (worse luck it takes so long a time). It is the only way of discovering what they contain. A few savage tribes eat them, but reading is the only method of assimilation revealed to the West.
~E.M. Forster

Weeks 2 & 3

Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.

~Harper Lee
(I believe the above quote may have been taken from the book,"To Kill a Mockingbird." I'm not positive though.)

Week 4

From my point of view, a book is a literary prescription put up for the benefit of someone who needs it.
~S.M. Crothers

Monday, May 4, 2009

Quotes of the Week for April

Here are the quotes for the month of April. Have a great day!

Week 1

Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.
~Groucho Marx~
(an actor from the Black & White days of movies :-) )

Weeks 2 & 3

A book worth reading is worth buying.
~John Ruskin~

Week 4

I would never read a book if it were possible for me to talk half an hour with the man who wrote it.
~Woodrow Wilson~

Thursday, April 30, 2009

April Update--I'm back! (almost) :-)

Hello all! Well, today is the last day of April, and I was hoping to do a book review, but it probably won’t happen. So, here's what I've been up to...

Church
April 26 our church celebrated 90 years, and the entire month was spent in preparation for that. I scrapbooked every spare second I had, at least it felt like it! Sarah and I stayed up till 3:00 a.m. finishing up last minute preparation, but we did finish! On the 26, we had a lot of visitors and it was great meeting a lot of people I have never met before, and seeing some old friends. Yes, it was worth all the effort! (oh, and when I got home I completely crashed, and I am happy to report that Monday morning I felt well rested and re-energized :-) ) We also had a deaf choir with us that Sunday, and it was really neat to see.

Work
Has been going well, nothing too major to report on this front. I’m still doing down stocking and I am enjoying my time there. (my co-workers have noticed that I’m starting to relax and “warm up” to them a little more) I was able to introduce Mom to one of my favorite managers there this month. My schedule is starting to be more regular, and I can plan things better these days, which I love!

Blogging/Reading
Well, obviously I haven’t done a thing with blogging this month! Last week I did not even check or monitor the blog at all. I’m really hoping in May I can pick up the slack and do some reviews! I don’t believe I read a single book in April.

Other April Tidbits
We made some more trips to see my “niece” this month, and our Pastor’s wife just had her seventh baby earlier this month. So, I’m having fun seeing TWO babies at church on Sundays! :-) Dad preached the Sunday that our Pastor’s wife had her baby, and I’m hoping to do a blog post of that sermon in the future.


What’s next
Well, first of all, cleaning the disaster that was once called “my room” is on the top of my “to do list.” :-) Filled with scrapbooking supplies, pictures, and church history, it’s pretty much an exploded disaster. :-) May is looking pretty busy, Sarah has her college graduation, church is planning on some ladies events; a Saturday luncheon/shopping trip and a baby shower. And I’m hoping to get back to reading, blogging, and maybe try some new recipes!

Update on my Aunt
Thank you to those of you who are praying for my Aunt! This week we learned that her two chemo treatments have not been effective, and they will be trying a different type soon, this has some potentially harmful side effects, one of which is damage to her heart. Pray that this new treatment could work! Without going into specifics, some new developments in their financial situation also came up this week; continue to pray for them in the financial realm also.

I believe those are all the major highlights of the month. I'm incredibly glad to have April 26 over with and am looking forward to having more time on my hands to devote to
other things. :-)

Have a great week!

~Amanda~

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

March Update

Hello all! Sadly another month has gone by and I have not done a book review! Well, technically I still have a couple hours left of today, but somehow I think my other responsibilities will take a higher priority. :-) So, here's another one of those rambly random updates on what I've been doing this month!

Work:

Work has been one of the main things that has kept me busy this month. Gone were the days I thought I'd only be working 15-20 hours a week (or even 4 hours!). I am regularly working 30 plus (maybe close to 35 hours) a week. My two days off are consistently Fridays (piano lessons and catch up days) and Sundays (church). This is one reason why I'm not blogging, I simply don't have time!
It doesn't appear work will slow down in the near future either, I just accepted a new position at the store where I will be "down stocking." (and as far as I know, it doesn't involve a pay raise, in case you wondered :-) ) This involves taking overstocked merchandise from the boxes on the top shelves and putting them in their usual spots, if they fit. I'm grateful for the opportunity to have more hours and a slightly more regular routine, but I sort of wish this was happening in May; March and April are hectic for me at the moment! :-)
No, I haven't been job searching for Administrative positions lately, no time and not much motivation. :-)

Church:
I've mentioned before that our church is celebrating 90 years in April, and I volunteered to be part of a committee and plan a scrapbook. This is the second main reason I'm not blogging. This has involved a lot of responsibility and planning. Thankfully my sister is also helping out, otherwise I'd lose my mind! :-) Without going into endless details of what I've been up to in this area, pretty much every spare minute not spent working is spent sorting pictures, scrapbooking, planning scrapbook days with the ladies at church, making plans and lists, and a variety of other things.

Reading & Blogging:
Well, at the moment I can't really think if I've even read anything this month, yes I did! Early in the month I was reading books and then selling them. :-) Not very many though. Hopefully my reading will pick up in May. (poor books, I'm sure they miss me. :-) ) As for blogging, my apologies about not having anything posted, I will really try though, if not in April, definitely in May! Thank you to those of you who still check on here to see if I've posted anything though!

Other things:
In addition to all of the above, I've been busy selling books for friends, which has been involving people coming to the house and looking/picking them up. The most noteworthy one was when a group of 10 young adults came over at 10:00 at night on a Friday, in our basement. Needless to say, life is never dull around here. :-)
I mentioned before that I was able to see a production of "Les Misérables" I also got to see one of my younger friends from church in her ice-skating competition. These two things were the "fun" highlights of my month. :-) I also had a piano recital this month.

Prayer Requests:
If you think of it, and have a desire, I certainly would appreciate any prayers this month! There is still much I need to get done, and I feel somewhat overwhelmed with responsibilities. I know that it will get done in time, but I need endurance and sometimes I have to watch my
attitude. :-)
Also, on a more serious note, my Aunt has been diagnosed with cancer, and her family and mine would appreciate prayers and wisdom for the doctors on how best to treat her.

I believe those are the highlights of the month. I've enjoyed seeing my little "niece" (okay, technically she isn't my niece, but my best friend is like a second sister, so I call her a niece :-) ) a couple of times and I hope visits will increase in the future. :-)

Hope you have a great week!

~Amanda~

Quotes of the Week for March

Here are the quotes for the month of March, have a good day!

Weeks 1 & 2
Literature adds to reality, it does not simply describe it. It enriches the necessary competencies that daily life requires and provides; and in this respect, it irrigates the deserts that our lives have already become.
~C.S. Lewis


Week 3
I know every book of mine by its smell, and I have but to put my nose between the pages to be reminded of all sorts of things.
~George Robert Gissing


Week 4
That is a good book which is opened with expectation and closed with profit.
~Amos Bronson Alcott

Monday, March 16, 2009

Poll Results--02/27/09--03/08/09

Hello all! Well, here are the poll results and a brief update. :-) Last week was insanely busy for me, and I completely forgot until the end of the week to put up a new quote for the week! Oh well! This week is also promising to be just as busy, maybe a little less so, but not by much. :-) Last week I enjoyed seeing a high school production of "Les Misérables" that had a couple of friends in it, and I was able to see a friend in her ice-skating competition, between that and working 30 hours last week, sorting pictures, and other responsibilities, blogging is just not working these days! :-) After seeing "Les Misérables" I am in the mood to read the book. :-) However, since it's a French novel, and they are notoriously long, I will probably have to hold off until the summer. :-) I may do some posts on that, if I ever do read it! Anyway, onward to the poll results!

First, thank you to all who participated! I think I got a couple of new voters on these polls and it was fun to see!

Would you like to see updates on what I'm doing on a regular basis?
Total of 4 votes


Yes............................................3 votes (75%)
No, they are irrelevant to the blog............0 votes (0%)
Don't care.....................................1 vote (25%)
What's an update? :-)..........................0 votes (0%)

Well, interesting, I'm glad that most of you enjoy my random updates I do. They are much easier than doing book reviews, and I can usually fit them into my schedule better. I will keep that in mind! :-)

Would you be interested in reading a summary of the marriage conference I attended in January?
Total of 5 votes


Yes...................4 votes (80%)
Not really.............1 vote (20%)
Don't care.............0 votes (0%)
I want a book review!.........0 votes (0%)

Wow! I wasn't quite expecting everyone to be so interested in my notes.:-) Once I get some time I will start working on getting something up here for you to review!

What would you like to see reviewed next?
Total of 4 votes


Finish Prince Caspian.....0 votes (0%)
The next chapter in Spiritual Disciplines.....0 votes (0%)
Noel Piper book.........................0 votes (0%)
Pleasing People..........................0 votes (0%)
Something by "The Dad".....................1 vote (25%)
Movie Review..................................0 votes (0%)
That Voice of the Martyrs book you promised us in November!.....3 votes (75%)

Hee! Well, yeah, I guess the Voice of the Martyrs book has been on my list to do long enough, between the marriage conference notes and this, I will try to have one or the other up this month! I really will try! :-) I will also see if Dad is up for doing an article soon. :-)

Thanks for all of you who participated! Hope you have a great week!
~Amanda

Monday, March 2, 2009

Quotes of the Week for February

Hello all! Here are the quotes for the month of February.

Week 1

If you have never said "Excuse me" to a parking meter or bashed your shins on a fireplug, you are probably wasting too much valuable reading time.
~Sherri Chasin Calvo

Week 2

Most books, like their authors, are born to die; of only a few books can it be said that death hath no dominion over them; they live, and their influence lives forever.
~J. Swartz

Week 3

Having your book turned into a movie is like seeing your oxen turned into bouillon cubes.
~John LeCarre

Week 4

Far more seemly were it for thee to have thy study full of books, than thy purse full of money.
~John Lyly

Friday, February 27, 2009

New Blog--Jay Adams is Blogging!

I just received the following email in one of my email in boxes. I haven't had a chance to check the blog out yet, but I'm sure it's good!

The Institute for Nouthetic Studies offers training in biblical counseling by extension and features the teaching ministry of Dr. Jay E Adams.
Jay Adams is Blogging!
Because he is no longer able to travel far from his home in the Upstate of South Carolina Dr. Adams has been able to turn his attention to writing a blog. Since he began around the first of the year it has quickly become a popular internet destination for hundreds of pastors and counselors around the world. Jay's subjects have included theology, preaching, writing, and, of course, counseling issues. He has also cracked open the door just a bit for a look into his life as a retired, rural southern gentleman. Bookmark the address of our blog and check it out daily.
The Institute Continues to Grow
New students join the ranks of those who are studying biblical counseling through the Institute every week. If you are seeking a robust curriculum, taught by the founder of the modern biblical counseling movement, at an affordable cost, that you can study in your own home, we urge you to check us out on our website at http://www.nouthetic.org/.
Comfort from the Scriptures
We are glad to introduce a series of booklets from Dr. Adams that explains the hope and comfort only God's Word can provide. No maudlin poetry, no silly illustrations, no sappy stories---only clear and compassionate instruction from the Scriptures. Would you expect anything else from Jay Adams?
For a limited time we are pleased to make this set of three booklets available to everyone who sends a donation (of any amount) to support the Institute. Follow this link to our donation page.

The Annual NANC Conference Comes to SC
Mark your calendar for October 5-7 and plan to join us in Spartanburg, SC at the annual conference of the National Association of Nouthetic Counselors. Follow this link for more information about the conference. While you are in the upstate plan to stop by and visit our offices in Greenville.
What is Nouthetic Counseling?
Click on the link above and let us explain.